National Occupation Classification (NOC)

National Occupation Classification is a system in which Canadian jobs or occupations are classified/grouped on the basis of job duties or a work a person does.

The Canadian government uses the National Occupational Classification (NOC) system to classify jobs (occupations). Jobs are grouped based on the type of job duties and work a person does. For the immigration purpose the main job groups are:

  • Skill Type 0 (zero): This category includes management jobs, such as:
    • restaurant managers
    • mine managers
    • shore captains (fishing)
  • Skill Level A: This category includes the professional jobs that usually call for a degree from a university, such as:
    • doctors
    • dentists
    • architects
  • Skill Level B: This category includes the technical jobs and skilled trades that usually call for a college diploma or training as an apprentice, such as:
    • chefs
    • plumbers
    • electricians
  • Skill Level C: This category includes the intermediate jobs that usually call for high school and/or job-specific training, such as:
    • industrial butchers
    • long-haul truck drivers
    • food and beverage servers
  • Skill Level D: This category includes the labour jobs that usually give on-the-job training, such as:
    • fruit pickers
    • cleaning staff
    • oil field workers

The Canadian immigration programs like Express Entry, Federal Economic Programs like FSW, FST, CEC uses the NOC to decide if a job or type of work experience meets their eligibility. The candidate is considered under the “skilled” if their job comes in the NOC Skill Type 0, A or B.

Find your job title, code and skill type from the under below table.


If you couldn’t find your NOC in the above table, you can fill out our free assessment form and we will help you.

You can also find out NOC details at

Check Eligibility To Visit Canada